The Tertiary Education Quality Standards Agency (TEQSA) is an independent statutory authority established in 2011 to regulate and quality assures Australia’s large, diverse and complex higher education sector.

Read more about the AQF…

The Australian higher education system comprises both public and private universities, Australian branches of overseas universities, and other higher education providers with and without self-accrediting authority.

Qualifications available from higher education providers range from undergraduate awards, (bachelor degrees, associate degrees or advanced diplomas) to postgraduate awards, including graduate diplomas, master’s degrees and doctoral degrees.

TEQSA registers and assesses the performance of higher education providers against the Higher Education Standards Framework.

The Standards Framework comprises five domains: Provider Standards, Qualification Standards, Teaching and Learning Standards, Information Standards and Research Standards.

The Provider Standards and Qualifications Standards are collectively the Threshold Standards, which all providers must meet in order to enter and remain within Australia’s higher education system.

TEQSA will undertake both compliance assessments and quality assessments.

Compliance assessments involve assessing a particular provider’s compliance against the Threshold Standards for registration as a higher education provider.

TEQSA may conduct quality assessments across the whole higher education sector, a sample of providers, or a single provider.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s